MTV Unplugged in New York - DVD release

NIRVANA - MTV Unplugged in New York DVD cover

Click to view larger image | Click here to view the release poster

Nearly 14 years to the day after the filming of Nirvana’s landmark “MTV Unplugged” performance, that raw, revealing and emotionally gripping acoustic concert previously seen only on television will be available for the first time on DVD. “Unplugged In New York” (Geffen/MTV Networks/UMe) will be released on November 20, 2007 and will feature the complete, unedited 66-minute concert including “Something In The Way” and “Oh, Me” not aired during the original 44-minute broadcast. “Unplugged In New York” also includes five previously unreleased rehearsal performances and MTV News interviews with the band and audience members.

Filmed November 18, 1993 at Sony Music Studios, the show first aired on MTV on December 14, 1993; just four months before the untimely passing of Kurt Cobain. “Unplugged In New York” DVD is now presented in both Dolby Stereo and 5.1 Surround Sound and includes both the shorter original broadcast version, and Nirvana’s entire unedited performance. When released on CD in November 1994, “MTV Unplugged In New York” debuted #1, won the Grammy for Best Alternative Music Album in 1996 and was quickly certified five times platinum.

Favoring a selection of carefully chosen tracks over the band’s hits, Cobain, bassist Krist Novoselic and drummer Dave Grohl perform acoustic versions of Nirvana’s “About A Girl,” “Come As You Are,” “Pennyroyal Tea,” “Dumb,” “Polly,” “On A Plain,” “Something In The Way” and “All Apologies.” Six other songs are covers that mined Nirvana’s musical diversity and depth, from David Bowie’s “The Man Who Sold The World” and The Vaselines’ version of “Jesus Doesn’t Want Me For A Sunbeam” to the trad folk “Where Did You Sleep Last Night?” associated with Leadbelly and the Meat Puppets’ “Plateau,” “Oh, Me” and “Lake Of Fire.” Meat Puppets singer-guitarist Curt Kirkwood and bassist brother Cris Kirkwood perform with Nirvana on those tracks. Also seen and heard throughout are Nirvana’s touring guitarist Pat Smear, an original Germs member and the original and now recurrent guitarist of The Foo Fighters.

The DVD adds the MTV News “Bare Witness” feature of interviews with the band, the MTV production staff, and fans in the audience, plus the rehearsal footage for “Come As You Are,” “Polly,” “Plateau,” “Pennyroyal Tea” and “The Man Who Sold The World.”


  1. About A Girl
  2. Come As You Are
  3. Jesus Doesn’t Want Me For A Sunbeam
  4. The Man Who Sold The World
  5. Pennyroyal Tea
  6. Dumb
  7. Polly
  8. On A Plain
  9. Something In The Way
  10. Plateau
  11. Oh, Me
  12. Lake Of Fire
  13. All Apologies
  14. Where Did You Sleep Last Night?


  • Documentary


  1. Come As You Are
  2. Polly
  3. Plateau
  4. Pennyroyal Tea
  5. The Man Who Sold The World

Release Dates

  • International - November 19th
  • US & Canada - November 20th

Web Store Link »

October 20th, 2007